Archive for the ‘Natural Resources and Environment Committee’ Tag

Take Action to Ensure that Tony’s Captivity Remains Illegal!   Leave a comment

52014_appeal-TruckStopTony.jpgLouisiana bans nearly all private ownership of big cats—and for good reason. The state correctly recognizes the threats that these deadly animals pose to the community. However, a dangerous new bill in the state legislature could undermine these common-sense restrictions, so we need you to speak out now!

The bill, S.B. 250, would singularly appease Michael Sandlin, who has kept Tony the tiger isolated and on display at a truck stop in Grosse Tete, Louisiana for more than a decade. His truck stop has been cited by the USDA in the past for unsanitary feeding practices, mishandling of tigers, failure to provide veterinary care, lack of shelter from inclement weather, lack of clean drinking water, and no knowledgeable employees to care for the tigers—but his exhibit has not been shut down. Ownership of Tony was even declared illegal by the Louisiana Court of Appeals, but still, Tony continues to languish.

This is no life for an intelligent, athletic animal who would travel miles every day to hunt for prey in the wild. Tony’s acute sense of smell is assaulted by constant diesel fumes, and his sensitive ears listen to roaring engines and taunts by truck stop visitors. His barren enclosure does not include activities to relieve boredom, and he sits under the scorching sun with no pool or other place to cool off. In a sign of immense psychological distress, Tony constantly paces in his tiny enclosure, putting him at risk for painful physical problems.

Why would Louisiana single out Tony for such mistreatment? A crucial component of the fight for Tony (read more here) is preventing S.B. 250 from passing the House Natural Resources Committee. Please tell the Committee members that Tony the tiger deserves better.

https://secure3.convio.net/bfusa/site/Advocacy;jsessionid=67BC965CFF88B099CECD831C785FD246.app325a?pagename=homepage&page=UserAction&id=885

How We Can ALL Help Tony!   Leave a comment

life sentence

Recap on SB 250, Rick Ward III‘s bill to “exempt certain persons from the requirements of the big exotic cats rules” (specifically to allow Michael Sandlin to keep Tony at Tiger Truck Stop in Grosse Tete Louisiana.)

After failing by a vote of 19 Nays – 18 Yeas on April 28th, it was voted on again on May 13th: The Louisiana Senate PASSED SB 250 by a vote of 20 YEAS to 18 NAYS. The bill was then introduced to the House on May 14 and referred to the Committee on Natural Resources and Environment.

SB 250 is scheduled for a hearing TOMORROW WEDNESDAY May 21 @ 9:30am. You can view the agenda here: http://house.louisiana.gov/Agendas_2014/May_2014/0521_14_NR.pdf

If you’re a resident of Louisiana PLEASE contact your House Representative and ask them to OPPOSE SB 250, especially if your Representative is a member of the Natural Resources and Environment Committee. List of committee members at the end of this post.

You can also find this list here: http://house.louisiana.gov/H_Cmtes/H_Cmte_NR.asp Just click on your representative’s name for contact information at the link.

Born Free USA also has an Action Alert for LOUISIANA RESIDENTS Targeting the Natural Resources and Environment Committee:
https://secure3.convio.net/bfusa/site/Advocacy?pagename=homepage&page=UserAction&id=885

(Thank you Born Free USA)

For those of us who are NOT Louisiana Residents, please share the following information so we can reach others.

  • Born Free USA’s Action Alert Targeting the Natural Resources and Environment Committee:

https://secure3.convio.net/bfusa/site/Advocacy?pagename=homepage&page=UserAction&id=885

  • ALDF’s Post for Tony:

http://aldf.org/cases-campaigns/action-alerts/protect-tigers-from-unlawful-captivity/

  • ALDF’s Video for Tony:

http://youtu.be/yGbIUEVE_E0

  • ASPCA’s Action Alert for Louisiana Residents:

http://www.capwiz.com/aspca/issues/alert/?alertid=63198706&type=ST&&from=advocacycenterlanding

  • These petitions are also still open for Tony:

http://www.change.org/petitions/louisiana-state-senate-oppose-sb-250-uphold-louisiana-state-law-prohibiting-private-ownership-of-tigers

http://www.change.org/petitions/ldwf-ensure-tony-the-tiger-is-released-to-a-reputable-sanctuary

Let’s continue positive yet strong advocacy on behalf of Tony and work together to procure him a peaceful life, expert care, a proper home and the respect and dignity Tony and ALL animals deserve.

Natural Resources and Environment Committee
(Name, District, Email)

Dove, Gordon
52
larep052@legis.la.gov

Bishop, Stuart J.
43
bishops@legis.la.gov

Armes, James K.
30
armesj@legis.la.gov

Billiot, Robert E.
83
billiotr@legis.la.gov

Chaney, Charles R.
19
chaneyb@legis.la.gov

Connick, Patrick
84
connickp@legis.la.gov

Foil, Franklin J.
70
foilf@legis.la.gov

Garofalo, Raymond E.
103
garofalor@legis.la.gov

Gisclair, Jerry
54
gisclairj@legis.la.gov

Guinn, John E.
37
guinnj@legis.la.gov

Harrison, Joe
51
harrisoj@legis.la.gov

James, Edward C. “Ted”
101
james.ted@legis.la.gov

Jones, Sam
50
joness@legis.la.gov

Lambert, Eddie J.
59
larep059@legis.la.gov

Leopold, Christopher J.
105
leopoldc@legis.la.gov

Montoucet, Jack
42
montoucj@legis.la.gov

Morris, James “Jim”
1
larep001@legis.la.gov

Ortego, Stephen J.
39
ortegos@legis.la.gov

Schexnayder, Clay
81
schexnayderc@legis.la.gov

Kleckley, Chuck
36
larep036@legis.la.gov

Leger, Walt III
91
legerw@legis.la.gov

%d bloggers like this: